Wallis and Futuna / Wallis et Futuna / Uvea mo Futuna.

11 years ago

Wallis and Futuna, officially the Territory of the Wallis and Futuna Islands / Wallis et Futuna or Territoire des îles Wallis et Futuna / Uvea mo Futuna is a Polynesian French island territory (but not part of, or even contiguous with, French Polynesia) in the South Pacific between Fiji and Samoa. It is made up of three main volcanic tropical islands and a number of tiny islets. The territory is split into two island groups lying about 260 km apart:
Wallis Islands (Uvea), in the north
Wallis Island (Uvea)
Hoorn Islands (Futuna Islands), in the south

Since 2003 Wallis and Futuna has been a French overseas collectivity (collectivité d’outre-mer, or COM). Between 1961 and 2003, it had the status of a French overseas territory (territoire d’outre-mer, or TOM).


The Struggle Continues

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.