West African CFA franc

3 years ago

Banner 728×90

The West African CFA franc is the currency of eight independent states in West Africa: Benin, Burkina Faso, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Mali, Niger, Sénégal and Togo. These eight countries have a combined population of 105.7 million people, and a combined GDP of US$78.4 billion.
The acronym CFA stands for Communauté Financière d’Afrique or Communauté Financière Africaine. The currency is issued by the BCEAO, located in Dakar, Senegal, for the members of the UEMOA. The franc is nominally subdivided into 100 centimes but no centime denominations have been issued.

This video is targeted to blind users.

rectangle 300×250

Article text available under CC-BY-SA
Creative Commons image source in video


The Struggle Continues

5 thoughts on “West African CFA franc”

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.